Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spoke too soon!

The cough continues. Generally in prolonged fits, then peace and quiet, so sleep was possible in between times. I now do a combined violent cough+sneeze, and feel as if I'm losing my voice.

I was woken by a big coughing fit at about 6:30. I heard Archie jumping from his bed, then realising it was the wrong signal, tiptoeing back to bed with a sigh to await the alarm. What a good boy.

I did manage to sit outside in the sun in my dressing gown this morning after breakfast in bed (we weren't on the right level on the boat for that service!) It was such a nice day we decided to take a drive to one of our favourite places for a dog walk and lunch - the Waterside Pub in Haddington. It's about a half hour drive, with most of it on the motorway (ie no potholes), so we had high hopes for a vomit free drive. Alas, it was not to be. Just as we parked at our destination we heard him, but at least he was extracted before he ate it all up again...

He doesn't seem any the worse for wear once he's out - skipping off to meet dogs and sniff around. We met lots of dogs, including Shona, a Scottie dog who hadn't been clipped for many a long month, and it was hard to see which end was which, though Archie had no trouble. Also met another schnauzer, whose owner clips him herself and says it's easy... We've watched a couple of YouTube videos this afternoon. Working up to this, Archie...

Actually, though it was sunny, if the sun went behind a cloud, it was COLD. I had set off on our walk without a jacket, or my hat, and regretted it. I got so chilled, but warmed up nicely once I was properly dressed and the sun came out again. We sat outside in the sun, and let Archie have a wander around as it wasn't busy. But he kept trying to get inside the pub every time the door opened. Perhaps because the nice waiter had brought him water and a big dog biscuit.

On the way back, we almost made it vomit-free. It was not to be. But I was able to extract him and we walked home from there.

I did speak too soon yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.