Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The lurgy continues...

The lurgy still has a grip. Poor Archie, who is generally dozing on my lap, has got quite used to the frequent violent explosions (sneeze+cough) and barely raises an eyebrow, though occasionally he will give me a pitying look...

After watching the 'How To' videos yesterday, I dreamt the whole night that I was grooming Archie. Easy peasy. I put the grooming table up in the spare room and made him stand while I brushed his legs. He was very good and just stood there. Bodes well for the real thing. I will do this several more times while I work up to getting those scary clippers out. And looking at that hairy wee face - it can't be too long now...

I looked out the kitchen window, and noted that the grass was almost ready for another cut. Sitting on the grass, quite near our door, was Tinkerbelle, the neighbour's cat. I thought I would show Archie, and perhaps get him used to sharing the back green with her. I lifted him up to look out, and after a moment's thought he started the loudest barking! He rarely barks now, so it was quite a surprise. But he barked and barked and barked. I noted how funny he looked - his whole body, especially his ears and beard, were flying up and down with the effort. But I didn't quite get the full throttle action shot...

I think he has not forgotten last summer when he was in his pen, and Tinkerbelle waltzed about the garden, free as a bird cat. I don't think this will go smoothly...

The sun is shining and it looks summery - but it's an illusion - there's still a cold wind. I won't venture out today, though both days I got chilled only because I wasn't properly muffled up.

I'm wondering if I picked up the lurgy on the way to the boat, but it was kept in check by the constant flow of champagne, beers and cocktails, and now that they've stopped...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.