Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Another Food Blip

I was rather tired today but decided to pop over to the Stockbridge Market where I got a little carried away! I bought a couple "bambi" strip loin steaks (they are a bit small), a venison cottage pie, a squabbit pie (squirrel & rabbit), some chicken liver pâté a curry kit with coconut milk and a six pack of "Shipwreck IPA" in cans. I figured cans are easier to transport so I can take a can or two in my bag next time we get a hot sunny day. After the market I dropped by the "Stockbridge Tap" for my usual post shopping pint (or two).

I bought most of the ingredients for tonight's dinner a couple days ago and thought I'd better cook the chicken before starting on today's shopping. I pan fried the diced chicken with some Italian herbs and rosemary and lemon juice then I mixed up a little chicken stock with some maple syrup and added the juice of a large orange and some apple liqueur, after reducing this a bit I mixed in some single cream. It was a bit sweet and a little too thick so I put it through a sieve (which also got a few lumps out) and added a good slug of Whisky spirit. I wasn't sure if it would work but it was pretty good, the maple syrup was the main flavour but it had a good background taste of orange and apple, you couldn't really taste the Whisky, maybe I should have added more ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.