Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Tulip Festival at Dunsborough Park

Dunsborough Park is a private house. Occasionally the doors are opened, for the National Garden Scheme or for charity. I honestly can't remember where I heard there was to be a Tulip Festival this year but I decided to see what it was all about.  

Firstly, I took the dogs for a walk at Hatchlands, in the search for the mythical show of Cowslips.  Still none to be found in the Park itself but plenty coming into show nearby. Taking the photography group to witness zilch is somewhat embarrassing.  I knew I couldn't take the mutts into Dunsborough so killed two birds with one stone. I still want to see if the Cowslips exist! 

I was greeted at the gate by a happy lady who gave me an info sheet and a plan of the gardens.  I haven't looked at either as there was too much to occupy me and my camera, starting with the fabulous Edwardian glasshouses. . Even if the Tulips hadn't been in flower I'd have revelled in the landscape.  It's divided into many individual themed gardens, surrounded by old walls and well maintained hedges, each one more beautiful than the other. I now want to see the magnificent Mulberry in full leaf, the blossom on the trained apples will be at it's best next week and what will emerge beneath that incredible display of colour that has enchanted me today? 

Yes, I have the option of uploading other images now. Although I could give you fifty other shots of areas, colours and angles, I prefer to keep it simple.  This sight made me smile.  If you live nearby, the next opening date is the bank holiday weekend and I suggest you see for yourselves!  

House full... am sated of Tulips, of food and of wine.  Time for bed! 


  
=

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.