Spell My Name Right

My last name, which I've obscured in the photo, was misspelled in the New Testament given to me by Glamorgan County Coucil (Wales) to mark the coronation of Q.E. This brings to mind the quotation attributed to P. T. Barnum and Mae West, plus many others, "I don't care what the newspapers say about me as long as they spell my name right."

The misspelling is just one of the reasons for my lack of affection for this gift. My feelings about the monarchy can be summarized in the words "Bah humbug!" I don't know why I've kept it through many moves and three marriages.

If you're wondering why the Diamond Jubilee celebration is happening this year, Queen Elizabeth came to the throne on February 6th, 1952, although the coronation wasn't until June 2nd, 1953.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.