Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerphilly Castle Aerial View

I popped out this afternoon to get an aerial view of Caerphilly Castle.  It's been quite a while since I took one overhead. Things look different through the seasons as well. It's taken facing east and shows the moat and, basically all of what's left! It was quite windy, which you can see from the water, although sunny.

Caerphilly Castle  is a medieval fortification in South Wales. The castle was constructed by Gilbert de Clare  in 1268-71 as part of his campaign to conquer Glamorgan, and saw extensive fighting between Gilbert and his descendants and the native Welsh rulers. Surrounded by extensive artificial lakes – considered by historian Allen Brown to be "the most elaborate water defences in all Britain" – it occupies around 30 acres and is the second largest castle in Britain. It is famous for having introduced concentric castle defences to Britain and for its large gatehouses. Oh, it's also famous for it's leaning south east tower which leans more than the tower at Pisa. 

Afterwards, I headed to Pontypridd as I had a request from Sarumstroller to do an aerial view of the viaduct in the centre. I did a recce and will try and get back there on the weekend when it's quieter. No sooner had I left there my phone rang to do a 'job' so by the time I got home the wife had finished work and was enjoying a cuppa she made herself.

This evening has been taken up with booking a week in Crete, doing the flights, hotel and car separately. Mrs Bobs Blips is an avid reader and she's read a pile of books on Crete and wants to visit Spinalonga, where there was a leper colony, which features heavily in her books.

Each to their own - as long as I can get some photo's!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.