Strange differences.

I had a wander along the edge of the common this evening as the sun was setting, past some houses I could only dream about what they might be worth, down into the edge of Harpenden, and happened upon this little pub, set in amongst a little street of terraced houses, which looked very inviting.

Popped in for a sift half only to be very disappointed. The atmosphere was not particularly pleasant and I felt immediately like an outsider.Made my way to the bar only to find nobody willing to move and give me access to order a drink ,so made my way to the end of the bar where I caught the barman's eye.
Once delivered, he then as good as refused to accept my Bank of Scotland note, making it quite clear they don't accept them here. On making the point that it is legal tender and until at least next Friday morning, Scotland is still a part of Gt Britain, he said that his bosses did not allow him to accept these notes and did I not have anything else.

It may have been the fact that I said (more politely than he was addressing me I may add) that no I did not have anything else and that either he pour the drink away and I go round the corner to find another hostelry or he take my hard-earned cash, that finally changed his mind.

And for once in my life, I took my drink outside and enjoyed it on my own rather than making conversation with some of the locals.

Strange people down here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.