Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

Watching me ,watching you....

A day of very heavy,cold ,dirty showers of rain/sleet. Spent the day hauling hoggs home again. That 's the last 140 vaccinated and into a shed here for a week or so. Have been using the landrover to check the calving cows for the last day,as the hill herd is using my quad while his one is getting fixed. This means that I have to pick my route round the field with great care in case I get stuck. Unfortunately the cows don't tend to calve in the dry bits !
This is A17 ,who calved last night. I couldn't find her calf at first this morning as she had it hidden in the rushes. The cow was making sure that I wasn't getting any nearer any way . A17 was my first blip last year on 4th May,so I've come full circle.
Had another newly calved one to bring in tonight as the calf got chilled in the rain and hadn't sucked. After milking some out the cow and feeding it with a litre and a half it soon perked up !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.