Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets a wee friend

I'm still very excited about my new cupboard in the shed. I was dreaming all night of more clearing out of the hall cupboards - old plant pots,  paint brushes, and my newspaper briquet maker, which I can confidently predict that I will never use again. It is so labour intensive - over three weeks I made 21 briquets, which took a whole back-breaking morning to make each time, then took weeks to dry - I had to dry them on the radiators eventually. Then I wouldn't use them, so precious were they. So they took up a whole shelf in the cupboard until I came to my senses and started using them. I don't recommend those contraptions - not worth the hassle.

I took Archie down to the Meadows in the afternoon - and the blossom is just about right, though morning or evening light would be better. It was chilly, but gorgeous blue skies and fluffy clouds.

I spied an old pal of his - Taylor. Haven't seen Taylor or her mum for ages, though I'm not always down that part of the Meadows. But Taylor's mum had fallen and broken her hip in the winter. It happened on a Thursday, but she wasn't operated on till the following Tuesday - they were doing 'emergencies' before her! Emergencies? I would have thought she WAS an emergency! I really don't think operating theatres should close at 5pm and over the weekend - they should be in constant use.

I got a quote from a painter for the windows, and of course, it was so much I decided to do them myself. I had planned to borrow the neighbour's ladder to reach the top, but then I had a better idea - buy one of those telescopic ladders which fold up small. It will fit in my shed. Perfect! Then I can do them when the mood takes me, and not have to arrange a weekend job. And it will be perfect for window washing, which I can't quite manage at the moment, and always leave annoy streaks or whole bits untouched.

Neighbours are coming over this evening to help with our magnum of Prosecco and to hear about our Rhine cruise and to celebrate their engagement.

I tried for ages to get a decent shot of the two dogs charging around, but this one will have to do - Taylor flashing by in a blur, and Archie miles behind. Also showing the lovely skies and blossom.

He's flat out on his bed now! He'd definitely count today's walk as a Good One!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.