The State I Am In

By Shuji

#3 Lorelei

As it became braw in the afternoon, I went for a walk to a cemetery. Probably I whiled away more than an hour wandering about the cemetery. 

Today's tune is "Lorelei" from Cocteau Twins' third album Treasure, released in 1984. Cocteau Twins, from Grangemouth, Scotland, are one of my favourite bands of the 80s and 90s. Once I remember I was stunned by the beauty of the voice to listen to the song for the first time. The vocalist of the band, Elizabeth Fraser, is sometimes described as "the voice of God". I can't agree more. I haven't heard more beautiful voices than hers.

What's the connection between today's song and this photo? This stature somehow reminds me of the Lorelei, a beautiful female spirit that is said to linger on the rock on the bank of the Rhine in Germany, bewitch boatmen, and finally wreck their boats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.