the colour green

By jukeys

terre à terre

I took Don to Terre à Terre this evening in Brighton. It's a well-known, vegetarian restaurant that is supposed to be one of the best places to eat in town. I was really excited to go and couldn't wait to try the food once we saw the menu. The flavours and textures all sounded so wonderful.

Unfortunately I didn't think the food was that great. My starter was six huge, dense chunks of bread with some nori butter and a few sunflower seeds. I was expecting lots of exciting dipping oils, relishes etc. after what I'd seen on the menu. Plus, to eat that much bread (even though I shared it with Don) was just too much...especially as there were not enough accompaniments to go with it.

The main was gorgeous to look at but, again, I think the description made me salivate more than the actual food.

My dessert was the kulfi ice cream with boondi pops (basically deep-fried morsels of gram flour batter). The ice cream was flavoursome but strange (that wouldn't normally bother me but I'm not sure if it was that nice) and the rest of the things on the plate were just not that enjoyable to eat - very sharp pomegranate sauce, the fatty boondi pops...

We didn't NOT enjoy it but, for the price, I was disappointed in the experience.

In saying all that, the waiting staff were so friendly and chatty - loved that part of it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.