Where it all began . . .

. . . Bar Mayor Sol, Calle Postas 5, Madrid. I'm referring to the bar where I had my first beer in Madrid thirty five years ago and to where I've returned every visit since, if it's been open. The whole staff shout out 'Welcome!' as you cross the threshold and 'Thank you!' as you leave - in Spanish, of course. It's a long tradition and Alejandro, left, and Marcos, right, carry it on as if they are veterans. Neither of them were born when I first heard the shout! And it's also the most spick and span place you will ever find . . . the staff never stop cleaning counters, glass or the gantries where they keep bottles.
It's a don't miss place if you come this way, just off Plaza Mayor.

A very successful first session today and well worth the careful preparation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.