Avanti

I had a governors' meeting, this afternoon, which didn't finish until six o'clock. I'd already said to Dan and Abi that we'd go out for supper as I knew I wouldn't fancy cooking after what promised (and turned out) to be a rather tiring day.

Abi is a bit fussy about eating out for reasons that I can't quite fathom but recently she has taken a shine to the Red Dragon and, specifically, their cheesy nachos, so I'd said we would go there.

Thus we were all in a cheerful mood as we walked through the pub doors. Abs and Dan went off to choose a table and I went to the bar to order our drinks and pick up a couple of menus. When Dan and Abi's drinks were poured, I took them over to the table, only to find that the menus were unnecessary; they knew what they wanted.

As I headed back to the bar, I saw what appeared to be the chef talking to the lady behind the bar who was serving us. There was something slightly antagonistic in the body language but, hey, it was none of my business and I waited for my drink and to place my order.

"I'm sorry but we aren't serving nachos after 5pm."
"Oh. Is that a recent change? We've had them here in the evening before."
"The chef's just told me."

I wasn't sure what to make of this. How did the chef know we were going to order nachos? And if we're so regular that he recognised us (although I don't think I've seen him before), well then why not be a bit more accommodating?

Anyway, we held a quick council of war at the table and then finished our drinks and headed next door to the ever-welcoming Avanti bar. Abi seemed quite happy with this arrangement, not least as her older sibling, Milly, was working there, this evening. The food is always good at Avanti and Abi ambitiously tried a dish she hadn't had before we she enjoyed, so I guess that's the end of our visits to the Red Dragon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.