Moonpies

It all began in 1917 when a Kentucky coal miner asked a traveling salesman for the Chattanooga Bakery for a snack “as big as the moon.” Earl Mitchell reported back and the bakery obliged with a tasty treat aptly named MoonPie. It was filling, fit in the lunch pail and the coal miners loved it.  It consists of two round, graham cracker cookies, with marshmallow filling in the center, dipped in a flavored coating. The snack is often associated with the cuisine of the American South.  The rest, as they say, is history.

 They sold for 5 cents a day when they first came out.  I bought this one today for 70 cents.  The company currently produces about a million a day.  I remember having them when I was a kid and I thought I would get one for my grandson to try.   I added the extra picture of him enjoying it.



Tomorrow is Mother’s Day and I’m having my mom (and my dad) and Bob’s mom here for brunch.  We are having all sorts of yummy food.  I’ve been eating light all week so that I can enjoy a treat or three.  It’s always nice to be treated special once in a while.  I’m looking forward to a nice relaxing day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.