Gunnera Manicata?

There's about 40 or 50 species of the genus Gunnera, and this could be Manicata, the largest. I was given this by a friend, who was probably given it from a friend, who...

The flower head is quite impressive, but it doesn't do a lot more than this. The leaf stalks are quite spikey, and the leaves are just huge. I can stand underneath them when they are fully grown. They resemble rhubarb, and I'm told the pithy centres of the stem are edible. Not tried them yet..

A dull day, turning to rain. I've been helping A again, and we now have all the posts for the polytunnel concreted in. They'll have the weekend to go off, and then fit the hoops next week.

Egg run tonight, but as it's wet, and G's away, I did them in the car this afternoon. So I'll miss out on the pub too.. A few beers in front of the fire and watching a DVD then..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.