momcat1

By momcat1

The River Running

It was 3PM and I finally got to leave work , by which time I was a little crazy. I wanted to get out on the river so badly today before it rained. I hit every possible traffic snag going home. It took a ridiculous 40 min to get home (with apologies to those who have 1 hour train commutes daily). But  we did it ! We got out on the river. The  avian river denizens are a little different than in the late summer: no herons, no kingfishers. Instead of kingfishers every 50-100 yards there were kildeer on almost every spit of rocks, probably guarding nests. There were lots of grackles, a few mallards, mergansers and a wood duck pair ( unfortunately blurry). And to my suprise a bald eagle pair flew overhead . Literally. ( Also blurry) It was pretty , it was relaxing , and next time I want to try the Chenango and look for otters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.