PeckhamBelle

By PeckhamBelle

Upstairs

I'm not cool enough to pretend I'm not excited about staying in a stately home. It's gorgeous - and it's a thrill to be allowed behind the red velvet ropes, to see all the working parts (and the messy teenage bedrooms hidden from the public's view) and watch my kids skid up and down the shiny wooden floors of The Long Gallery, 'Tom! Mind the Gainsborough!'

We explored the house from top to bottom today, opening doors and drawers to learn more about the house and its occupants since the 1600s. The house has never been sold, it's never been cleared, so an awful lot of stuff has been 'sat on by Cromwell', or 'slept in by Charles'.

We ended up on the roof looking down as local growers set up a plant fair in the front garden. A good time with good food and good friends.


It's my 500th Blip today and I'm singing The Proclaimers' biggest hit .. 'And I would Blip 500 Blips and I would Blip 500 more.' I love it here. Your friendship and company is better than chocolate or gin. That's saying A Lot. Thank you x

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.