at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Teeny tiny briar foot

Brair had her first bath today (we realised she was still a bit yucky from being born)- she liked the hair washing bit, wasn't so convinced by the body bit. Think she'll like the tummy tub when she eventually gets to come home.

Willow had a type of blood transfusion today, where they removed some of her blood and diluted it a bit. It looks like she might have suffered from twin to twin transfusion syndrome right at the end, where she leached some of the nutrition etc. from briar which would explain why she came out bigger when we thought she'd be smaller.

We went out in the evening to the sister of one of Euan's friends who lives nearby who offered to do our washing for us. She was exceptionally lovely, giving us a key in case we needed to escape the hospital. I like to say when nice things happen 'we'd do the same for someone else', but on this occasion I'm not sure that's true- I don't think I'd have thought of being so nice.

Then we went to Asda to get clothes, since I only really had my jogging bottoms and we'd both run out of pants. Shopping for clothes to form a very limited wardrobe, on a very limited budget when your sleep deprived and have no idea what size you actually are- is not fun. I channeled my inner ivy voice though, which helped. Got the pyjama bottoms with butterflies on them since I thought she'd like them best. Also got her some tshirts with flowers on that I thought she'd like on the sale rail- because it is so much more fun to shop for her than us.

Got home far too tired, which made it hard to deal with it when Briar suffered a 'choking episode' in the middle of the night. I was awake considering it being about time to wake her up for a feed when it happened, but my bed is so soft and dipped in the middle, and my stomach muscles so shot from carrying two babies about (I have a huge split between my muscles and am per mentally held together by a tubby grip currently) that I couldn't sit up to get to her and had to scream for Euan- who when he eventually pulled himself awake rushed her down the corridor to the midwives. I'm not sure why they think 'oh it was just a choking incident' is comforting- but they monitored her overnight and took some bloods for testing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.