42 Years

It was in May of 19 and 73, that I was waiting in the front of the church for my new bride to enter. She came in, walking with her father...looking radiant. I was standing with 4 of my friends, my brother, and my dad, who was the minister.

My dad gave us his 15 minute wedding special, we had a "dry" reception, then Lisa and I were off to Florida for a honeymoon. Disneyworld, and Ft. Lauderdale. We did have a small problem in the theme park. It was either chipmunk Chip or Dale, (the one with the red nose) that kept trying to look down the top of my new bride. Yeah, hugging on her, and looking down her top. I was about ready to put a hurtin on the giant rodent when he finally sauntered off.

We had dinner at Lucky's Steak House. Using the word...I KNOW that I am lucky to have such a wonderful woman and wife, and perhaps...just perhaps she's lucky to have me. And...and...and...we are both LUCKY to have each other. If I had it to do over, I wouldn't change a thing...except for maybe punching out that leering squirrel-wannabe.

Like a same-age friend said recently..."There's no getting around it. You have to face the facts that we're in the 4th quarter of life."

But, what a great game it has been. Love you Lisa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.