Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not another New Rule!

JR suggested that Archie did not need his anti-bark collar any more, so today we went out without it. Only one wee gruff slipped out, but that was a shouty toddler just as we came out of the gate and so took him by surprise. No barking the whole way!

I forgot my camera. For the first time ever. Bu**er! I was too far away to go back. And so I missed two possible blips. :-(

We walked along to Summerhall, but the cafe was FULL. And we could hear squealing toddlers as we came along the corridor. Not a single gruff passed his muzzle!

We sat as far away from them as possible, but a quiet toddler and her mum came over to say hello to Archie. All went well.

Then a while later, the same toddler came back, sans mummy. I gave her a bit of kibble to feed to Archie, which he took gently. She pointed to my pocket again. I gave her another bit. This went on for quite some time. I could see no sign of mummy, but she did eventually come to collect her, after I had used up almost the whole pocketful of kibble. I could have/should have got a good photo.

We then walked back home across the Meadows. And who should we meet but the 'Pug Gang' (we've met the before and Archie was fascinated). Four of 'em. Another blip missed. That'll larn me.

This shows another New Rule for Archie. The neighbour's back door is often open, and has to be out of bounds - can't have him chasing Tinkerbelle into the house and causing havoc! This is my noise bottle (full of pennies). Archie hates it - he didn't even like to sit beside it! - but it worked instantly to keep him from chewing at the firewood stack by the wood burner.

I will give it to the neighbours to use at their back door. We'll have a couple of wee practices one afternoon - he'll soon get the picture.

I had a wee fiddle on Colorsplash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.