JoyF6

By Rosina

Mountain

We've just spent the most amazing time at a refugee camp visiting a family I met during the distribution last week. I could talk to you about it for hours! We got to read to them and tell them good news! The children had a blast playing bean bag games in an empty tent.

This family was so delightful but their hearts were so sad. The elderly sister is paralysed and blind (due to chemicals released into the water in a dictator's time). The teenage son had to carry his aunt up the mountain when they fled from their village last year.

The mum had a 10 month old baby who was only 20 days old when they spent 6 days up in the mountains. She looked so unwell and is half the size she should be.

An old lady joined us who was so batty! Whenever she wanted to speak she would poke me with her stick or pinch me. I don't know how many times she told me to have more sons! Her male relatives were taken and killed last year. There is so much sadness in this country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.