Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Hector Herdwick

Meet the wee chap that kept me awake all night! If the rusty old hurdles had held, my life would have been easier! I lent the good ones to a 'friend' but they haven't come back...(you know who you are and I know you are reading this)! 

Of course Holly escaped down to the bottom of the field leaving Hector (do you like his new name?) in the pen to fend for himself.  She bleated enough to wake anyone in bed a couple of miles away but new mums have to learn about babies and Hollies  instinct was pretty poor.

I trundled out to sort similar episodes, and to force Holly to let the lamb feed, four times during the night.  This morning I gave up trying repair the pen and let them free to meet the others.  All quiet there but, every time Hector went to feed, his mother kicked him out of the way.  I've had to trap Holly a few times to force her to let the lamb have a teat but there has been a breakthrough and a meal without human intervention was had at lunchtime.  He did try to suckle on the ram and his aunt, who nudged him away, not too unkindly, but I'm happy now to disappear indoors for an early blip, a shower and a well earned snooze.  This is far more energetic than my work at night and I'm pooped!

Off tomorrow for a fun day out on a barge that will be pulled down the canal by a horse.  17 of us from the photo group and cream teas.  

:) I'll have to leave James to lamb and mother sit for a few hours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.