at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Ivy back!

We got our Ivy back today, we couldn't be more pleased. I did joke to Euan, that the only thing that makes living in a box with a newborn more fun is adding a toddler to the mix - but w decided she'd spent long enough apart from us. granny grant and pops did a great job of keeping her happy and entertained, but we missed her desperately and clearly she's been missing us too ( we're suffering a little for her not trusting us not to go again)

Euan went to collect ivy and granny from the train station, we all had lunch and then went down to see willow. I carried ivy on my back - she now seems to weigh an absolute tonne, but I was pleased to have her back 'where she goes' again.

Poor Euan got left to do bedtime with two tonight, whilst I went over to have my last antenatal midwife check and see willow. The midwives were very delayed getting took me, I thought I was going to have to leave and feed briar, but she coped okay.

I got a horrible fright going in to see willow, her cot was surrounded by people and the baby in the cot was covered in a sheet with blood on it and tubes sticking out the middle. I tried not to get in the way and went to ask a nurse if willow was okay - turned out they'd just moved her room and it was someone else's baby who was unwell in willows old cot. Willow was having her paracetamol suppository inserted when I found her - she's got the same pointy bottom as Ivy used to have before she chunked out- and the nurse wanted me to stay and tube feed her, but I was too shaken up and thinking about it - I don't want to tube feed willow. I can't do it any better than a nurse and I want her first feed from me to be the proper old fashioned way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.