The lost keys

Today did not go as planned. The discussion I had prepared for the 12-16 age group at Young Church on Pentecost was more or less covered by the Minister in his talk. So I had to improvise.

Then took mother in law shopping. The use of the supermarket wheelchair makes that so much easier and I was ahead of time getting back to her house. Then it all went awry.

I'd transferred my stuff back into my car, locked it; took in her shopping; sorted it out then went back to my car. No keys. From her drive to her kitchen to her store room - they had disappeared.

I searched everywhere. On the floor. In bags. Emptied my pockets. Looked under cupboards and freezer. Looked in the freezer. Checked her car - twice. Looked in the garden several times. Nothing.

I began to wonder if somehow I had clicked the lock button then shut the keys in the car. So went home (in her car) and got the spare keys. Had to abandon the search to do other things (in her car) then went back later in the day. A rigorous search of the vegetation eventually led to their recovery. They had obviously been catapulted out of my pocket attached to her house keys when I went to open her door.

This is the view of her border with some of the upper leaves pulled back. The keys are in there but deep down. Relief: but many of today's plans up the spout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.