Fast and Slow

The Wide Angle Wednesday theme is Opposites so I took advantage of a spare half an hour at Waterloo Station to slow the shutter speed down and catch some people moving and some standing waiting.   So here is a version of the opposites fast and slow.  Since I had neither tripod nor filters with me it is not the best rendition, especially on a sunny day (where is that cloud when you really need it?).

I was meeting my eldest granddaughter, Anna, to visit the house and museum of Charles Dickens together; perhaps I bond with him especially, as we share the same birthday.  He really is an amazing writer - just look at some of the openings to his books (Christmas Carol, Bleak House, Tale of Two Cities for example) to see his skill.  Bear in mind his verbosity is partly lead by the fact that he was paid by the chapter, but his stories are superb and an amazing insight into Victorian poverty and hardship.

I lead Anna on a bit of a walk round a few London streets seeing the place where Dickens lived as a boy, an old workhouse, a few alleyways, some shops which haven't changed a great deal in over a hundred years, eventually ending up at Doughty Street where he lived with his family and wrote several of his books, including Oliver Twist.

After the museum, Anna and I headed for Oxford Street and a bit of shopping as I owed her a birthday present; she chose a lovely dress and cardigan.

Exhausted but fulfilled we met Anna's father at Liverpool Street and I then trekked back to Marylebone and a train home.  A great day.

I am indebted to Hobbs for giving me the motivation to realise the potential of shots taken with a wide angle.  I have learned a lot.  I hope this particular challenge will continue for a long time so please volunteer to do a bit of 'hosting', even if only for one week.  It's not difficult and great fun seeing what other blippers create.  Do let me or Hobbs know if you'd like to take a turn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.