2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Legend

The word legend is overused these days.

I know this because people describe me in this way.

Today I believe I use the term in its correct context.

I took a couple of students to work for Football Aid charity football at Old Trafford, Manchester today.

The concept is that people pay to play at a stadium like Old Trafford.

A former player from the club plays on each side. Today it was Denis Irwin on one side and Clayton Blackmore on the other.

There was a rumour that Denis Law would be coming along too.

Those of you who know football will know the contribution Denis Law made to football.

For those who need a little more information, he played for both Manchester United and City. He was the most expensive player in the world when Torino of Italy signed him.

He was one of "The Holy Trinity" at Manchester United. The other two being Sir Bobby Charlton and George Best.

My journal has many examples of me meeting wonderful people.

All have given me great pleasure and are held in high esteem.

Whilst meeting them and getting photos were great, this was different. This was one of those "If nothing else happens today I'm getting a photo" days.

He was as happy as the photo suggests. My expression is one of joy and awe at meeting a true legend and a true gentleman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.