Yedameister

By Yeda

Character House

I walk past this house nearly everyday. I admire its architectural features, being that it closely resembles the houses of the Arts & Crafts era. The Christchurch city council defines a character house as being built prior to 1945 and has distinctive architectural design appropriate to the age of the house.

"It has to have an authentic use of materials and craftsmanship and be known for its contribution to the residential character of the local streetscape or even be recognised by the community as a local landmark".

I think this is too vague a definition. Unfortunately my great big coffee table book of New Zealand architecture doesn't give me a definition much less an example of a Character House. From what I've observed, it usually has loads of detailed woodwork, great craftsmanship, leaded and or stained glass windows, and proportions and scale similar to the Arts & Crafts type homes (notice how the roof line is brought down to window-head level). Now, if only they could be well insulated!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.