St Patrick's Cathedral

I had a good amount of time when i arrived at Birmingham Intl. I went to the check in desk to have my visa checked but was asked by the staff to go directly to security check. The staff at the security area told me i should have had my boarding pass stamped at the check in desk. I of course told the security i was already there and was asked to go directly to security check. So another security personnel took my boarding pass and went somewhere with it probably to phone in check in desk about my case. She came back and informed me that they will sort out my  case at the gate. At the boarding gate during boarding, I was again held and told that I should have had it signed and stamped at the check in desk so I told them the entire story again. The staff kept on telling me that i should have it stamped at check in or i will be refused entry to the plane. I have been telling them that I perfectly know about that (and that i am not an idiot! of course i didnt say that) because I have been travelling so many times and I was not quite sure why the staff at the check in desk told me to go directly to the security gate. Anyway, after a few minutes of making a phone call and checking that i had the proper Irish visa, she finally authorized/signed my boarding pass and let me through the gate. You'd think they properly check passenger documents or have better coordination but no, they inconvenience passengers and embarass them in front of other passengers. I am just glad that i am the most patient person when it comes to things like this.

Arrived in Dublin on time. It was a quick flight and since there was more light now that it's almost officialy summer, I was able to roam around the city for 2 hours by cycling (free bicycle hire in my hostel). I was only able to visit St Stephen's Park and the grounds of St Patrick's Cathedral (blip entry today) and Christ Church Cathedral. Cycling on the streets of Dublin is quite scary but fun at the same time. Streets are mostly flat and dedicated bike lanes make it easy for cyclists to use the road along with buses and private vehicles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.