52.1833 -64.0500

Another beautiful view from my 'Office Window'.

I flew off to DC today, on an earlier flight than I normally do.  I traded my trip from next weekend and this was all that was available, but I was happy to get something.  Driving to work was a nightmare - it's the worst possible time for me.  It's a good thing I left at the crack of dawn - even then it took 90 minutes to drive what normally takes 30 minutes.  Monday mornings are particularly bad.  And even worst - the first Monday after last week's school's half term.  And I believe there had also been an accident.  I got off the motorway to drive the back roads and even they were clogged up so I went on the back-back roads!  Thank goodness for GPS!

I took this during a very quiet part of the flight when all the passengers were sleeping or watching movies and I had a little time for 'sightseeing'.  Sometimes what I see out of the window looks more like another planet!  I had no idea where we were, other than probably over northern Canada.  However, I often do a search to find the exact location.  I use the time stamp under the 'info' part of the picture on iPhoto and then look up the flight on the Flightaware website.  I look up the exact time and it gives me the latitude and longitude which I then in turn look up on Google Maps.  

SO….if anyone is interested, this picture was taken at position 52.1833 -64.0500.  Just about where Quebec borders Newfoundland and Labrador. So now you know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.