LeGreveKarjala

By LeGreveKarjala

A Lady Slipper

I have these blooming in my backyard.  When I was
a young girl walking along a country lane in Michigan,
I sighted this flower.  I was stunned by its intricate
beauty; so picked it and brought it home to share
with my Dad.  He called it an Indian Moccasin and
explained its shape to me.  I was enthralled and
carry this precious memory with me still today.

Dial to about ten years ago.  By then I had gathered
a personal orchid collection, used them as imagery
for my watercolors and had joined a local orchid society.
During the many years, all the native orchids in this
area had been placed on the endangered-protected list.
Our orchid group was invited to rescue these flowers along
side a highway designated to become a four-lane highway.
We all took what we could an shared them with botanical
gardens and the like.  I brought a few home and they are
still with me.

Search Results
Images for indian moccasin orchidReport images







More images for indian moccasin orchid
Taking Off the Moccasin Flower and Putting On the Lady's ...
https://potash.marlboro.edu/node/60

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.