Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

In Memoriam?

Have you ever had the urge to write your name in wet concrete? I was invited to do that today, after helping build forms and pour concrete for the foundation of a large artwork. We had some concrete left over after filling the forms and raked it out to make a rough pad.

You can see the plans for the artwork in one of my extra photos. It's located just inside the entrance to the new permanent location of NSEA (Nooksack Salmon Enhancement Association) -- the nonprofit organization near and dear to my heart since we moved to Bellingham 13 years ago.

The salmon for the sculpture have been carved from cedar by Mike, who's been a volunteer and fervent NSEA supporter much longer than I have. The project was Mike's idea, and an architect friend of his drew the plans. We were all working together today. I just followed directions. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.