Aynhoe Park

I have driven past this place quite a number of times since Mum has been in hospital at Banbury. I've see it previously but never had the nerve to stop & take a picture. Well this morning that changed. I googled it last night & worked out where I could park which was in the nearby church car park. Trouble was my timing was slightly off as the parishioners were just standing there chatting with the vicar. After a while they got in their cars & drove off but I did get a few enquiring looks. Once the coast was clear I walked around to the front gates and took several pictures before quickly retreating back to the car.

Its interesting that the building is in private hands. It is owned by a music industry mogul and is full of eccentric & unusual collectables - my particular favourites are the life sized giraffe supposedly suspended in mid air by several helium balloons & the (possibly) stuffed cheetah looking through a telescope !!. 

The house is run as a wedding venue or a what-ever-you-want-it-to-be venue so long as your pockets are deep and the website for it is here
It is definitely worth a look even if your pockets aren't that deep.

Further info can be found HERE.

I got to the hospital to find that Mum was very well & eating her lunch sitting in an arm chair. I stayed for around 1.25 hrs before climbing back in the car for the return home. I called in at Sainsburys on the way home for some mushrooms & peppers so we could have a healthy salad for tea tonight. I walked in at about 1540 & then C went off to see her mum for a while.

My mum will be home on Tuesday & I will pick up Suzanne (my sister) who has flown over from Toulouse to look after her for a week. Then we will both fetch her home together, which will be a bit strange. Living abroad I don't see her too often & even when she is here she is out & about here there & everywhere.

Finally a big thank you to everyone for their recent comments & stars and even some hearts !!   THANK YOU so much it means a lot !! 

A fine warm sunny day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.