Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2015 Saturday -- Lovely Luncheon

Linda asked several weeks ago if she could plan a luncheon that I could attend and she wanted to know my schedule. She knew school would soon be ending and we'd be leaving for the Central Coast.

Mr. Fun drove because he had errands to do. We stopped first at Patricia's home; she is driving less and less (I think she is 86 now). Then we headed for Linda's place in one of the loveliest mobile home parks in our city and Paula was there before us because we had stepped into Patricia's brand new home in Eastvale. She and her daughter and son-in-law have all purchased a new home together. Oh what a beautiful home! Built by Lennar Builders. The house is 4,000 sq ft. It is just amazing.

Well, Patricia’s house is a story for another day. The focus of this day was the luncheon. I’ve known these three women for years. We used to all attend the same church. I have enjoyed their wisdom, expertise, and advice. Today was just fun and the meal was delicious.
 
Linda had prepared a buffet table of taco salad for lunch. She knows that I no longer eat meat and cheese, so this meal allowed me to skip the meat and cheese, but the lettuce, tomato, onion, olives, and taco sauce were delicious.
 
We talked for hours and enjoyed ourselves immensely.  All three of these ladies are widows. At one point we talked about retirement. Mr. Fun has now been retired for one year. Paula mentioned that it was so important for she and her late husband, John, to have a few extra activites of their own to be involved in because if they didn’t they had nothing to talk about because they did everything together and didn’t need to tell each other what was going on because they were both involved and knew what was going on. Mr. Fun and I never seem to run out of things to talk about, so Paula’s perspective was  new for me.
 
Paula left the luncheon first because she received a phone call that a delivery of quilts had been left on the porch at her home, so she needed to get back home to get those.  Then, I sent Mr. Fun a text to let him know that he could come back to get me and Patricia. When he arrived, Linda asked him to sit awhile and join the conversation, so he did.
 
It was a terrific afternoon and I took some photos randomly when Linda and Patricia were not  aware that I was taking them and then one of Mr. Fun and Patricia at her front door. I’m sorry that I did not capture a photo of  Paula before she made her exit.
 
This has been a good day,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.