Proud Weegie

By Shiv

The Newmains Band

I've had the privilege of playing with small a handful of bands and a few months ago - I had a wonderful reunion with some of the members of my first band - you can see the blip here .

The other band in my life is also arranging a reunion and a rejuvenation.  They last time they played together was at our wedding (20 years ago this September). We disbanded a few weeks after this photo was taken as we were all going our separate ways with jobs and families.  A sad parting.

This weekend we are playing once again at the Newmains Gala, and there are plans afoot to reform and encourage/support younger players in the North Motherwell area.  All thanks to the untiring work of GG who has sourced possible funding, venue, players and pulled us together.  We had a meeting this evening to discuss. I was overjoyed to meet with players whom I haven't seen for 20 years (and we don't look a minute older!).

G tells a lovely story of when he was very young, his dad played with the band, and he would sit at the back of the band hall during rehearsal playing (and banging )  with his toy cars.  Our conductor - Mr (Nigel) Boddice  said "If you don't stop banging those cars I'll put you on percussion!". 

I'm so excited about this Saturday.  My girls have never experienced the joys of a 'Gala day' - hopefully the sun will shine, if it doesn't - who cares.

Really looking forward to seeing everyone again.  Big thanks to GG for getting us away from our zimmer frames and back together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.