uni(que)-cycle

We manage to find Kelly a very nice bike, carrying the brand name of our first lady of the velodrome, Victoria Pendleton.  It’s finished in a rather fetching shade of purple with gold lettering.  The only downside are the handlebars which are straight and uncomfortable; Anniemay tells Kelly not to worry - bicycle-repair man will sort it out. 

Back in Melbourne, Kelly had a bike with swept back handlebars - a style we would call sit-up-and-beg.  This is what I need to try and emulate.

As it happens I have a pair of North Road Bars hanging up in a corner of the garage.  These were standard on bikes when my Dad was a lad and have become fashionable once again.

About a year ago I blipped a story about a visit to a ‘shed’ full of vats of sulphuric acid, in the heart of rural Bedfordshire.  The purpose of that visit, which I did not reveal at the time, was to have these handlebars cleaned up and anodised. I wanted them black, to match my new black bike frame (I am not immune to making fashion statements on two wheels).

For reasons I now forget, I took them off the new bike and thus they are surplus to requirements.  My plan is to fit them to Kelly’s bike to see if the shape suits her - and then buy some shiny new silver ones.  But I’m amazed to see that over the past 12 months, the black anodising has faded leaving them a distinct purple hue.

Dan and Kelly, having spent the last 6 months living a more spiritual way of life, immediately think that it’s a ‘sign’ of some sort - that the purple bike was meant to be and so the purple bars have to stay.

I just think it’s a sign of cheap anodising.  I just hope it doesn’t fade any more of the next 12 months.  But for now it looks just right and makes the bike somewhat unique. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.