I'm sitting now . . .

. . . in the seat in my local café in Cairo where I wrote both the proplogue and epilogue of my upcoming book. The next time I sit here the book will be published.

President Sisi, shown on the newspaper front page, was due in South Africa yesterday for an African Summit. An association of lawyers there asked the authorities to arrest him on arrival for alleged war crimes. Sisi decided not to travel. This follows hard on the heels of the president of Germany refusing to meet him in Berlin because of Sisi's government's record in the field of human rights.

President Al-Bashir of Sudan did travel to SA and the courts issued a warrant for his detention on similar grounds. It remains to be seen when or if he will travel home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.