Great North Swim

I did another swim today.....the mile. One circuit of the course in Windermere. The water was a bit colder than yesterday but it was wonderful. I wasn't keen on the start of the race as everyone just runs into the water and your all a bit on top of each other until the races gets going and people stream off. There were 8 heats for the mile event over the weekend with 3,566 swimmers taking part. I came first female in my age, 8th person in my age and 259th out of everyone.
In yesterday's half mile swim again I was first female and also first overall in my age group. I was 48th out of 594 swimmers who took part in that event. Yesterday I said I was 19th out of 300....I was....then they added today's swimmers to the list. I'm quite pleased with my efforts.
Over 8,000 swimmers took part in various events over the weekend which is incredible. Huge effort by everyone involved from swimmers to event organisers. It's wonderful to see so many people taking to open water swimming these days.
It must be so lovely to live where so many lakes are accessible.
After my swim today I went to Coniston for another swim. I met a friend who is holidaying nearby for a week. We swam over to a little island. Someone had canoed over and were cooking on a BBQ....we were very envious.
But we got really cold after a while and swam back to get dressed and warm up.
Long old journey home. Thought I'd do a detour to miss a huge traffic jam which was three junctions long. I ended up going up to Leeds!!! But I'm home now and very ready for my bed after such a brilliant weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.