AnyOldIron

By AnyOldIron

Art

I have always been intimidated by art. I like black and white answers to things and art, like so many things in life, is just so grey. Grey is messy and confusing.

A visit to the Antony Gormley installation, Field For the British Isles, in Scunthorpe today. I went with trepidation, expecting to feel dim but it completely blew all of my preconceived ideas away. Situated in St John's church (now part of the Visual Arts Centre) it consists of 40,000 little clay figures who stare out at you as they completely fill the space.

I loved it, was challenged by it, thought it was magnificent, was incredibly moved by it, didn't ever want to stop looking at it.

I guess now I get the point of art.

Thanks for a really top day out, Jo xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.