Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

5:32 AM

I was accidentally up before dawn in time to catch a rare colorful June sunrise.  Actually, I don't know how rare they've been lately because I haven't been up this time of day.  I do know that we've had a lot of nice puffy clouds around during the day, so perhaps...

I say accidentally because I fell asleep sitting straight up in the recliner last night.  When I woke up around five o'clock I had my lap desk across my legs with an empty bowl of chili and pasta - my late dinner from the night before.  It's a good thing I don't move much when I sleep.  The television automatically shuts off after four hours of inactivity. 

I plan on hitting the sack tonight.  I'd like to get up early tomorrow.  Beth comes to clean at 8:00 and I like to get up two hours before she arrives - so I can clean. 

It was actually pretty nice to be outside this early this morning.  I was able to keep the door open for about an hour, too, so I could listen to the birds.  First time in a long time I've been able to do that.  I keep my thermostat set on 78º so before dawn it was a few degrees below that.  The forecast for the next three days has been adjusted to 111º every day.  Unbelievable. 

I had to drive to Tucson for an MRI on my knee and my car read that high in a part of the city.  I have to go in again tomorrow.  I will bring about nine bottles of water with me.  I used six today.  I have to go out again on Friday for a meeting at the bank but that's local.

I have a pretty good system for keeping my car cool less hot while it sits in the sun:

Ø  Seek shade at all costs no matter how far you may have to walk to your final destination.
Ø  Place silver reflective screen in windshield to block sun
Ø  Roll driver side and passenger side windows down slightly.  Place a hand towel slightly over the edge of the window (horizontally).  Then gently roll up window so that the towel acts as a sunscreen.
Ø  Cover all coolers with white towels.
Ø  Use a reflective cover for the steering wheel (It's made specifically for that purpose.)
Ø  As I get out of the car, place another silver reflective screen over the seats and gear shift.

Feel free to use or adapt my system!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.