First Flower

No. It's not the first flower I have ever shot. Back in Blipfoto pre-history I shot them all the time. I have on-line galleries devoted to them. Buuut it IS my first flower in quite a while and the first flower (and indeed the first official picture) from my Olympus Stylus 1.

I could rabbit on for ages about my philosophy on cameras but you'll all be delighted to know I won't. Suffice to say that now in the "autumn" of my life (when I find it difficult to remember my own name occasionally) I have found that when owning two or more cameras, each set up and optimised for particular types of photography, it is important that they operate in a similar fashion. I am losing count of the number of shots I have lost lately because I was too slow ... because I effectively forgot what camera I was using. The Stylus 1 and the E-M5 not only look pretty much the same, they operate according to a filial philosophy. I am hoping that'll make me a lot faster when the chips are down from now on.

Why a flower? I have to admit that BikerBear's Flower Friday has been powerfully successful and the recent floral tributes in honour of Alma did move me greatly. I have come to feel I should go with the flow for a while. Starting next Friday I shall try to become an official flower shooter again. Today is a sort of warm up.  

In any event ThingsBeautiful's theme for the next Wide Angle Wednesday challenge (widwed17) will be "Floral". I'd better get my act together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.