My Own Bit Of Yorkshire

The night before I left England I had dinner with MidgeholeDave, BeeziePet and Polly Dog at their home.   Not only was it special to spend time with them, but they gave me what can only be described as the perfect gift; the bookends in this blip.   
 
I’ve mentioned my fascination for dry stone walls in previous blips and with Dave and Beryl’s help, I now have a formal education on them after we spent an afternoon at Shibden Hall where there’s an amazing display of various dry stone walls on the grounds of the estate.  And now I have some of my very own.
 
We were all a bit concerned about how I’d get the bookends into my luggage for the trip home because they are, after all, rocks and a bit heavy, but I would have jettisoned my clothes to make room and lighten my luggage if necessary.   I was actually looking forward to a Customs Agent asking me “What have you got in here lady, rocks?”  I don’t know if they would have thought it funny or not when I said “yes”. 
 
Anyway, thank you again Dave, Beryl and Polly Dog.  These delightful bookends will always make me think of you and smile every time I look at them.
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.