Fido

By Fido

GetaBout

My eldest boys' school has their first was is hoped to be annual cycling festival today. The P6&7's cycled a ten mile route this morning and the P5&6's cycled it this afternoon. The P1-3's have a cycle event tomorrow which will see them doing laps around the local park up to 5 miles in total.

The getabout partnership have set up home in the playground with their roadshow of weird and wonderful bikes and a test route for kids to try them out on. There is a bike doctor in the house carrying our minor repairs and help is on hand for those who have never yet learned to ride, or those who need a help getting off stabilisers.

If you are in P1-3 and want to take part in the 10 mike ride, you can do, provided you have an adult with you. You can probably guess that yes my P3 did want to do this, so being a day I don't normally work I happily agreed, strapped the littlest into the seat on the back of my bike and cycled up to meet them.

I saw my middle son when the children all came out with their teachers, when they had the safety briefing from the local police officer and when he was putting on his hi-vis vest. I just caught sight of him as he slipped through the gates and out onto the open road. And then I didn't see him again.

My eldest cycled alongside me for a token mile or so and then sped off into the distance, also never to be seen again.

When I got back to school I asked my middle boy where he had gone, 'you know I was supposed to be with you after all?!' 'Oh sorry mum', was the reply, 'me and four P5 boys were first back'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.