Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Carrying the wood home....

What a day!  Woke up in the middle of the night with a severe pain in my chest - thought I was having a heart attack.  Managed to get dressed and drive to the nearby clinic and saw a doctor who reassured me and gave me some medication!

Came home and had to set off to Lilongwe to collect some people from the airport tomorrow.  Started to clean the water filter and it broke......

Then set off on my journey and about two thirds of the way there, a lorry had blocked the road completely - it was on its side and there was no way any vehicle could pass.  There were hundreds of people around it - the local villagers.  They made a way round the lorry through someone's property and charged for each car to go through.  I saw the guy in front give K500 (about 80pence) and then they came to me and demanded K1000 - I was most indignant and said no, and they became quite agressive.  Eventually they let me though for K500.  I arrived in Lilongwe exhausted and in pain, and went straight to bed!

Not a great photo but its the kids on the road in mid morning carrying wood home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.