Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not another man in a kilt! Is this a theme?

Made a little more headway on the dreaded 20 page pension form. Found an important document I have to send with it. That was quite an achievement this morning, and reminded me of yet another thing on the 'to do' list before the house swap - clear out the corner cupboard. It's great having lots of storage, but of course, you tend to fill it to the gunnels over the years.

Popped into town and ended up, surprise surprise, at My Lounge in the City. It was rather busy, and all the iPads were in use, but there are papers and computers. They also have Hello magazines, which I would never buy, but quite enjoy a flick through, not recognising many of 'celebrities' featured. This one was all about the Jubilee, so there were lot so folk I knew.

I'm beginning to notice the same folk at My Lounge, people who pop in every time they're in town, just like me. There is a mother and son who have been there several times and stay much longer than I do and both use an iPad. The son, presumably, (unless he's a toyboy) is a very large teenager, and he goes up to the cake counter and comes back with a plateful each time. So does mum. They were up twice while we were there, and presumably at least once before we arrived. This is greedy and annoying.

Had a wander round town, and it was warm with the odd wee shower. There is a holiday atmosphere in the High Street, with loads of the usual performers out. The woman with the studs and metal all over her head and face was standing with a bright umbrella, but if she saw people taking a photo, she hid behind the umbrella. Don't know why, she must want to be photographed. Maybe you had to pay. I've put her in my blipfolio so that people who haven't seen her before can see what a sight it is. Those of you of a sensitive nature - don't look!

The usual fire-eating-nail-bed-lying chap was there. He was quite funny and I took lots of photos, but left before he put the sword down his throat. Yuk! There were some inebriated men shouting out, and he put them in the their place deftly.

This chap I chose was excellent. I thought he was just a statue at first, but now and again, especially when a group of girls came by, not noticing him, he'd leapt out, yelling and brandishing his sword! So funny. If people took a photo of him, he'd put on a fierce face. That chap's got a great photo to take home.

Yes, the Festival can't be far away...

Now, to attack that corner cupboard, or continue with my pensions form now that I'm making headway on it...

Or neither.


List of annoying things (contd)

Greedy people

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.