Plus ça change...

By SooB

Walk away from the light

Too bright.

For the last 10 days or so I have felt on the brink of an abyss of migraine.  Held at bay with plenty of hydration and occasional ibuprofen, today I could hold it back no longer.  Trying to get together the thousand documents needed for TallGirl's phone contract, a jaggy spot on my vision told me it was time to stop looking at a screen.  By the time I had made it to the kitchen for water and paracetamol, then back to the living room to close the curtains, I couldn't functionally see.  Driving is a big part of my 'job' so everything on my to-do list was put to one side in the interests of being able to see...

Admittedly the Today Program and In Our Time (astrobiologists) were probably not the most restful of listening material, but regardless I slept for an hour or two until a clever astrobiology joke (I suppose) had everyone in the studio howling with laughter.  Awake, I felt that I had avoided slipping into the abyss, but was just paddling in the shallows, up to my knees I suppose in nausea and headache - but able to see.

And now here I am at the computer when I really should be lying in a darkened room...

This afternoon saw some sleeping, and this evening some car washing with the neighbours, including lots of very very wet children, the kids FINALLY condescending to do some tidying up mere hours before their Dad gets home.  And I tried to buy a new iPhone cover but gave up.  Sometimes life is just too complicated for my little brain.

We did, however, manage a discussion on murder at the dinner table (ie that's where we were during the discussion, rather than it specifically being a discussion about meal-time murders) prompted by another Radio 4 show.  The kids were surprisingly unwilling to have me murder intruders if I felt their (the kids') lives were in danger, suggesting I should try to just hurt the axe-wielding intruder a little bit to make them go away.  Bleeding heart liberals.  They did however feel that being 'a child' (which they later defined as under 16) should be a defence to murder.  So maybe I'll just set them on anyone suspicious in the garden.  (For the record, they were happy for me to bash someone on the head if they were stealing my computer "because that's got all your photos on it".  Hmmm.)

Here's CarbBoy's school sunflower, which seems to be the first of all the sunflowers we planted at school to flower, probably because I put it in with a bunch of tomato plants and it has been stealing all the tomato food.

And there's a backblip for the 23rd if you can be bothered.  Another flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.