BrownBuddy1

By BrownBuddy1

Kiltearn

The dogs and I walked along the shore at Kiltearn again today. I had intended going on to the Blythswood Charity Shop. I needed some more dog towels, the ones I am using go back a few years, they are the towels the boys took when they went swimming with the school, as they are now in their mid 30ths, the boys not the dogs,  I thought the dogs might get a bit drier with some new secondhand towels.

But before I did that I thought I would have a wander round the churchyard. It's a beautiful place, so well tended, the grass is immaculate, all the graves are spotlessly clean and surrounded in flowers, a credit to the local community. What impressed me most was a double row of war graves, including a number of Polish ones. 

I was standing looking at them when an elderly gentleman walked past, he explained that the graves were tended by gardeners who come to Kiltearn and Portmahomac from Edinburgh once a year. The local community look after them in-between times. He also proudly showed me his family graves, brother, sister-in-law, mother, father, grandparents and his wife are all buried there, along with a number of friends. He goes 2 or 3 times a week to look after them all.  Such a kind, caring gentleman.

You can see him in the extra photo, carrying water from the tap by the gate to his wife's grave, he brought fresh flowers today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.