The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Calculated risks ...

What a fantastically sunny day!

I went out in the morning (unusually for me!) because the sun was so bright - and cloud was forecast for later.

I'd been tipped off about a rarity and found it, but not well enough for photographing. I also visited the kestrel box, which was occupied but with the sun behind it ..

This is where my calculated risk comes in - when I first moved in with mum I hardly left the house for seven months, I felt I needed to be on hand at all times. It was mum's CPN who said I needed to take 'calculated risks'. So as it was still amazingly sunny when I put mum to bed I decided to head back out to Sunk Island.

I'm so glad I did.

I saw the baby kestrels  (above - at least four of them in there), a beautiful sedge warbler, hares, a hunting barn owl - there was even a sunset over the gasworks as I left!

When I got home, mum was downstairs, sitting on the settee as though the day had just begun. I was very annoyed, which is so unfair of me. I'll take the risk again - and if she's up when I get home it hardly matters, does it?

In other news, I finally finished one of my many ongoing crochet projects (I'm going to rip some out so they don't keep glaring at me)

Meet my jolly snake draught excluder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.