Croft16

By Croft16

Still doing experiments..

..this was my job down south..

I volunteered to do a trial on Oca varieties, there are 21 here, and 3 replicates (nearly!). I've had the tubers growing in pots in the tunnel, the same as I do for my own ones. They all grew, except 1, and more than I expected to grow from the size and condition of tubers I received. I will keep these weeded, and do three harvest dates, probably late Sept, December and February.

So I had to rotorvate this patch first, and then the patch in the neighbouring croft for N's swede crop. Then back up the croft to the house with the rotorvator, but the track was still too wet to get back up with that amount of weight on. So I had to park, and take Tanni to the house and shut her in, before returning to the tractor, and driving arount the road instead. A quick wash off for the rotorvator, and then to the crofters shed to park it for the summer. Had to move a pallet load of cement bags, and wooden rails so that I could park an ATV and jet-ski that was in there, to allow me access to drop of the rotorvator.

Back to the house to put the transport box on, load up with Oca plants, trowel, and seed drill. Back down the croft with Tanni, and plant the 70 or so pots of Oca, and then to N's to sow 29 rows of swede. Also did 5 rows on my croft..

Later had a walk around taking pictures to load on to my Croft 16 facebook page.

Just had a lovely BBQ at A&J's with S&I, and S..

Very hot today, melting weather, but rained just as I was finishing the swede sowing. Forecast threatened 7 mm of rain at 8 pm, but it's not arrived yet..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.