Times Of My Life

By CarolB

By The Light of The Silvery Moon

Following on from my middle-aged (oh go on then, my 'late' middle-aged) nostalgia trip the other day when I was extolling the virtues of seventies songs and Jackie magazine; I ventured back along that road again today.

Heard on the news at lunchtime, that Val Doonican had died.

Woosh!  Back in time I went, remembering those Saturday evenings when the whole family sat together and watched one of the only 3 channels in existence.  The Val Doonican Show was a big favourite with us all; he had a lovely smile and such a pleasant friendly way, that you did think you had popped round to your favourite Uncle's house for a bit of a sing-song. 

His classic mixture of schmaltzy ballads, humorous songs for the kids, and a wee bit of contemporary pop-lite always went down a treat.  I don't remember if he ever actually sang about the Silvery Moon - but he could well have done, and he'd have done it beautifully. 

Very late home tonight, and caught a beautiful moon shining through the leaves of the Buddleia. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.