Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Sheltering

I had a trip out this afternoon which involved going around a large area of grazing land with gorse bushes at Mungrisdale Common.

I was amused to see that sheep, with their lambs, shelter from the sun underneath the gorse bushes. I don't blame them! What I am noticing is that sheep aren't being shorn yet. Some sheep are losing their fleeces naturally, but it must be so annoying to the sheep to still have their fur coats on in a hot spell

I'm about out of my depth here but it seems that, over recent years, it has been expensive for farmers to have their flock sheared. They don't get a lot per fleece.

Recently I was talking to a firm who were saying sheep's wool was an ideal filling for a continental quilt. I liked the samples they showed me.

In the UK support British farmers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.